Vegan Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

In an attempt to try some new recipes this year and try to eat as clean and fresh as possible, I decided to try Vegan Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes, which I found on Genna’s blog. I am a HUGE fan of pancakes, but sometimes all of the sugar, oil, and eggs that are added into traditional fluffy pancakes weigh me down for the remainder of the day. I decided to try something new, and used honey, flax, and yogurt to create pancakes instead. To my surprise, I really enjoyed these pancakes…they were a little thicker and denser than a typical pancake, but when served with a tablespoon of peanut butter and sliced banana on top, they were tasty! This is a great option to try for a weekend brunch or a great snack before or after your workout.

Although I would consider myself a “flexitarian,” I have become really interested in the vegan diet. I enjoy dairy way too much to become a strict vegan, but I do see many benefits to eating a plant based, vegan diet. Vegan recipes are light, fresh, and chock full of whole grains, fruits and vegetables…a Dietitian’s dream! So, you may be seeing more vegan-inspired recipes posted throughout the course of this year. But fear not, I’m sure there will be plenty of vegetarian and meat-based recipes as well. I hope you enjoy!

PS: I apologize that I do not have the actual pictures of the vegan pancakes posted. I cannot seem to find where I saved them on my computer! For the time being, enjoy the pic art ūüôā

 

Vegan Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

Ingredients:

1/2 C plain yogurt (I used plain, non-fat Fage yogurt)

1/4 C almond milk

1 T flax meal

3 T warm water

1 T honey

1 T organic cane sugar

3/4 C whole wheat flour

1/2 C old fashioned rolled oats

Pinch salt

1/4 tspn. baking soda

1 tspn. baking power

1 tspn. cinnamon

 

 Preparation:

1. Mix the flax meal and water. Let sit for 10 minutes.

2. Mix the yogurt, milk, honey, and flax in a bowl.

3. Mix the sugar, flour, oats, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon in a bowl.  Add the wet ingredients and mix until a batter is formed.  If it is too dry, add milk in small amounts.

4. Spray a griddle with oil and heat to medium.  Ladle the batter onto the griddle to make medallions and cook until brown on one side. Flip the pancake and cook through. Serve with 100% maple syrup, sliced banana, or your favorite jam.

 

Do you have any delicious vegan recipes that you would like to share? 

 

Leave a Reply

