Orange Spiced Cranberry Sauce…The Secret Recipe

I was born and raised a canned cranberry sauce girl. Every Thanksgiving and Christmas, dinner was comprised of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, candied yams, and sliced cranberry sauce. The shape of the cranberry sauce resembled the cylindrical tin can it was stored in, and was sliced thin and served on a festive plate. Cranberry sauce was always one of my favorite components of a holiday dinner, and nothing tastes better than roasted turkey with cranberry sauce on top! I always thought that canned cranberry sauce was the “norm,” and didn’t realize until I entered graduate school just how delicious homemade cranberry sauce tastes. Last year, my professor Dr. Fisher taught us how to make homemade cranberry sauce in Gastronomy class, and even gave me her secret family recipe to try. Well, I tried it, and let me tell you that I will NEVER go back to canned cranberry sauce! I tweaked Dr. Fisher’s recipe a bit, and created my own secret recipe for cranberry sauce…which I am nice enough to share with you all today! Enjoy this simple and tangy side dish along with your turkey, stuffing, and mashed potatoes!

Orange Spiced Cranberry Sauce

Ingredients:

Only four ingredients needed to make homemade cranberry sauce!

36 ounces fresh or frozen cranberries (usually 3 bags)

12 ounces (1 ½ cups) 100% orange juice

1 package mulling spices, tied in a coffee filter

1 cup sugar

Preparation:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large 3-quart saucepan, and bring to a simmer.
  2. Cook 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Sauce is done when cranberries start to burst and sauce starts to thicken.

*Sauce is best served cold the next day, as sauce will thicken in the fridge.

 

Leave a Reply

