Thanksgiving Potluck in Los Angeles

I promised that I would make a blog post about my Thanksgiving Day adventure, so here it goes! My brother invited many of his friends from film school who were staying in L.A. for the holiday. We had about 15 people in total come over for the occasion, and everyone brought a dish to add to the Thanksgiving buffet. What I found particularly fun was that all of our guests came from different parts of the world, including China, Russia, Romania, Spain, and Mexico. Many people made traditional holiday dishes from their country, including sangria, tortillas, and gazpacho. I decided to make a very traditional American Thanksgiving menu, which many of our guests have never had before. Thanksgiving was filled with many international foods, flavors, and memories!

My brother JR and I cooking up Thanksgiving dinner!

Here is what our menu looked like:

Turkey

Cornbread stuffing

Turkey gravy

Homemade mashed potatoes

Homemade sweet potato casserole

Homemade orange spiced cranberry sauce

Steamed carrots

Homemade chocolate pumpkin pie

Chocolate pumpkin pie...yum!

Orange spiced cranberry sauce

Spanish "tortilla" with eggs, onions, and sliced potatoes

I will be posting some of my favorite holiday recipes on the blog throughout the Christmas season. I would love to hear what your Thanksgiving traditions are, and what you love to prepare for your guests! 

Leave a Reply

