Healthy Turkey Day Leftovers!

Happy Thanksgiving to all! I hope everyone is enjoying spending time with their friends and family, making lifelong memories, and cooking some traditional holiday meals! This week, I made the journey back to the west coast, where I am visiting my younger brother in Los Angeles for Thanksgiving. I have taken on the (slightly unexpected) task of cooking Thanksgiving dinner for him and over 20 of his friends. This is yet another experience that I will never forget, and I will be sure to post about my Thanksgiving dinner in California!

Most importantly, I hope everyone takes the time to be thankful for all of the positive people, places, and things in your lives right now.That is what Thanksgiving is all about (besides eating yourself into a food coma!). I am so thankful for my Mom, Dad, and brother and everything that they do to support me. I am also very thankful for my education, my career, my health, and all of the future opportunities that lie ahead of me. Finally, I am so very thankful for all of my friends, old and new, that have been such an integral part of my life and have helped motivate and encourage me throughout my life. I’d love to have you all share what you are thankful for this year!

Now that your all-day cooking and baking festivities have ended, what should you do with all of your Turkey Day leftovers? Let’s face it, it is awfully boring to continue to re-heat the same old turkey and stuffing over and over again. Well, I happened to come across a creative yet healthy recipe, courtesy of Lisa Lillien (aka “Hungry Girl” on Food Network), called “Thanksgiving in a Salad Bowl.” Everyday can feel like Thanksgiving with this super easy and nutritious salad! This salad is less than 300 calories per serving, which is something to be thankful about! Check out the tasty recipe below.

Thanksgiving in a Salad Bowl

Nutrition Facts: 296 calories, 7g fat, 497mg sodium, 28g carbohydrates, 5g fiber, 19g sugars, 32g protein

You will need: Large plate or bowl, small bowl, whisk

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

Salad:

2 cups chopped romaine lettuce

2 cups chopped spinach

3 ounces cooked, chopped, skinless lean turkey breast

2 Tbsp. dried cranberries, chopped

2 Tbsp. crumbled fat free feta cheese

1 Tbsp. chopped pecans

 

Dressing:

1 Tbsp. canned whole cranberry sauce

½ Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

½ tsp honey mustard

Dash of pepper and salt

 

Preparation:

On a large plate or bowl, combine all salad ingredients. Mix well and set aside.

In a small bowl, combine dressing ingredients and whisk until thoroughly mixed. Pour dressing over the salad or serve it on the side.

1 Comment »

  1. Dianne Reid said

    Wish I had some leftovers to try this on…definitely will be getting some turkey and trying it! Thank you for sharing this. Dianne

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

