It’s A “Love A-Fair!”

This past weekend, my Dad came to visit Raleigh all the way from Philadelphia to continue our annual tradition of visiting the NC State Fair. The theme of the fair this year was “It’s A Love-A-Fair.” Since I have made my big move down to Raleigh, I have enjoyed having my Dad visit this time every year to explore the new “unique fried treats” of the state fair. Last year’s new food invention was the Krispy Kreme Bacon Cheeseburger, and this year the popular item to try was Fried Kool-Aid. By no means am I condoning the idea of eating mass quantities of deep-fried, sugar-laden foods all day long, but it was very interesting to check out the food that was offered at each vendor and see what people are willing to wait in line for half an hour for! After all, it is only ONE day (hopefully) out of the year, so I don’t see anything wrong with trying something new….but the foods offered at the fair are certainly not for everyday consumption!

Mt. Olive Pickle Booth- a local NC based company!

My favorite booth- the giant candy apple stand!

3rd Place Winner of the Cake Contest- A Farmer's Market!

The State Fair is all about having fun, and I definitely had fun spending time with my Dad. Not only were there jumbo pickles, fried oreos, and candy apples galore, but we got to see pig and billygoat races, and bought tickets to see Kansas and Kelly Pickler in concert. The state fair is a great local event to attend, and for those who are out-of-town, it is something that I recommend everyone experiences at least once in their lifetime. Although I am not a huge fan of fried foods or street food, I did try a jumbo Mt. Olive pickle, candy apple, and NC State Laughing Cow homemade ice cream (fyi- I got the Campfire flavor, filled with graham crackers, marshmallows, and chocolate chips, and it was delicious!). For the remainder of the weekend, I brought a couple snacks with me to keep me from getting too hungry at the fair- peanut butter crackers, trail mix, and protein bars were my snacks of choice 🙂

I hope you enjoy some of the fascinating (and shocking!) pictures that I took of the state fair this year:

My Dad, enjoying a giant dill pickle at the NC State Fair

My Dad again, about to try a Krispy Kreme Bacon Cheeseburger for the first time

Holy fried food!

I'm standing in the middle of the world's largest gummy bear sign. The gummy bears and gummy worms for sale weighed in at 5 pounds a pop!

Check out some of the “healthier options” of the State Fair, which I found in the agriculture and farming booths:

Check out the state's largest watermelon and pumpkin!

The state's largest sweet potato weighs in at 19.05 pounds!

One squash plant yields 10# of squash, while one tomato plant yields about 25# of tomatoes

One cabbage plant yields a 3-4# head, while one sweet potato plant yields about 50# of potatoes

Leave a Reply

