Back to Basics: Canning Apple Butter

I have taken a relatively long break from canning in my life. The last canning adventure I had was during the summer, when I made blueberry, strawberry and peach jams. I really enjoyed the experience, and the jams taste delicious, but it was a lot of work! 

Now that fall is here, and the farmer’s market is filled with various apples, squash, and pumpkins, I was inspired to can some fall produce. I decided to try apple butter, filled with chunks of pink lady apples, cinnamon, and cloves! The recipe turned out great- not only am I keeping a few jars to enjoy myself, but I have decided to save the remainder for some unique holiday gifts!

Only 4 simple ingredients required to make apple butter!

Apple Butter

Recipe From: Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving

Yield: about 3 pints (6 half pints)

Ingredients:

4 pounds apples (about 16 medium)- I used Pink Lady apples from the State Farmer’s Market

4 cups sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

¼ teaspoon cloves

Preparation:

*Be sure to wash and sterilize your cans and lids in the dishwasher prior to spooning your apple butter into them!

1. Wash apples.

2. Core, peel and quarter apples.

 

3. Combine apples and 2 cups water in a large saucepot. Simmer until apples are soft.

4. Puree using a food processor or food mill, being careful not to liquefy. Measure 2 quarts apple pulp.

5. Combine apple pulp, sugar, and spices in a large saucepot. Cook slowly until thick enough to round up on a spoon. As mixture thickens, stir frequently to prevent sticking.

 

6. Ladle hot butter into hot jars, leaving ¼” headspace. Remove air bubbles and adjust 2-piece caps. Process 10 minutes in a boiling water canner.

Leave a Reply

