Anyone for Babaganoush?

The past two weeks of my Hilltop Farms CSA box has been filled (and I mean filled) with eggplant and cucumbers. Don’t get me wrong, I love these two vegetables, but there comes a point where I get sick of eating the same thing over and over again and need a change of pace. Enter babaganoush– this is a thick and creamy Mediterranean dip that I have never actually tried before, but have heard wonderful things about. Last week, while waiting to pick up my CSA box, the woman next to me in line was telling me that she has been making ratatouille and babaganoush like crazy this past month due to the excessive amounts of eggplant in our boxes. Which got me thinking…I gotta try this asap!

 

Of course, the recipe I tried was created by my favorite celebrity Dietitian, Ellie Krieger. Not only is this recipe yummy, but it is nutritious (always a plus!). Try it out for yourself!

FYI- I served my babaganoush with chopped cucumbers and carrots.

Babaganoush

Prep Time: 20 min

Cook Time: 20 min

Serves: 4 (1/3 cup) servings

 

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant (1#)

1 clove garlic, minced

¼ tsp. salt

¼ cup finely chopped fresh parsley, plus more for garnish

2 Tbsp. tahini

2 Tbsp. lemon juice

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit

2. Prick eggplant with a fork and place on a cookie sheet lined with foil.

3. Bake the eggplant until it is soft inside, about 20 minutes total. Let the eggplant cool.

4. Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise, drain off any liquid, and scoop the pulp into a food processor.

5. Process the eggplant until smooth and transfer to a medium bowl.

6. On a cutting board, work garlic and ¼ tsp salt together with the flat side of a knife, until it forms a thick paste. Add this mixture to the eggplant.

7. Stir in parsley, tahini, and lemon juice. Garnish with additional parsley.

Leave a Reply

