Better-than-Starbucks (and better for you!) Iced Coffee

Nothing says summer more to me than a freshly brewed, refreshing iced coffee. I typically frequent Dunkin’ Donuts or Starbucks to fuel my iced coffee fix, both of which are delicious, but not so nutritious. I realized during this practicum project that I am not doing my body or my local economy any good by purchasing these manufactured coffees several days per week. A small coffee with cream and sugar at Dunkin’ Donuts costs $2.11 and contains about 150 calories.

So, in an attempt to become more health-conscious and environmentally friendly, I decided to try out my own “home brew.” I have never tried to make my own iced coffee before, but I figured I would give it a shot. I tried a recipe posted on Christy Jordan’s “Southern Plate” blog (check out her blog for more clever recipes). This was very easy to make, and you can save plenty of calories by adding a pinch of stevia or a splash of vanilla almond milk instead of heavy cream and sugar. Also, if you make your coffee with a locally sourced coffee, it is super sustainable!

“Home Brew” Cold Iced Coffee

Ingredients:

1 cup locally sourced ground coffee (Larry’s beans, 3CUPS, Café Helios, Carrboro Coffee Company, Counter Culture Coffee, and Muddy Dog Coffee Company are just a few of the locally produced coffee in the Triangle area)

1 quart container

Strainer

Large basket type coffee filters

Preparation:

1. Place ground coffee in container, fill with cold water. Cover and let sit for 12-15 hours.

Let your ground coffee soak in water for 12-15 hours

2. Place strainer over large bowl and put coffee filter inside. Slowly pour over about half of the coffee and let sit until strained. Replace filter and repeat.

3. To make regular coffee: place equal parts coffee concentrate and water in a cup and heat.

4. To make iced coffee: Place equal parts concentrate and milk in a glass (I like to use vanilla Almond milk). Add ice, sweetened as desired. You may find this iced coffee a little bit too strong for you, if so, leave room to add some water to weaken it if need be!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

