What’s in the Box? Week 11

My Dad is in town this week from Philadelphia, and the first thing that I told him we had to do was pick up our produce at the Hilltop Farms CSA drop-site. Farmer Fred impressed me again by supplying the CSA members with two new vegetables this week- blue potatoes and okra! I am a huge fan of okra, and have enjoyed it in my summertime dishes since moving to Raleigh. As for blue potatoes- well, I have never tried them before (or even heard of them!) They look delicious, and are a deep, midnight blue/purple color. They grow to be about the size of a red potato. My goal this week is to research the health benefits and unique properties of blue potatoes- as this was the topic of conversation at this week’s CSA drop-site.

Here is a list of the food that I received in my CSA box this week:

2# red, Yukon gold, or blue potatoes

1# yellow squash

¾# okra or snap beans

1 cabbage

3 spring onions

¾# kale or swiss chard

I also started searching around for some simple recipes that involve these so called “blue potatoes.” I found this recipe from an award-winning blog called “The Well-Seasoned Cook.” When trying a new food, I like to prepare the food in a relatively simplistic manner first to get a feel for the whole flavor of the food. Then, if I like the food, I move on to some more creative dishes. Try this recipe out, and let me know what you think of blue potatoes!

Rosemary Roasted Blue Potatoes
Serves: 4

Ingredients:
1 pound small blue potatoes, unpeeled but washed whole, any sprouts or bruises removed
¼ cup olive oil
2 tablespoons dried rosemary leaves, slightly crushed
1 tablespoon sea salt, slightly crushed

Preparation:
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F. Cover bottom of natural finish skillet with heat-resistant handle (cast iron works best) with the oil. Cut potatoes into quarters, add to skillet and toss to coat with oil. Position skillet on middle rack of oven. Roast potatoes for 20 minutes. Turn off oven heat. Stir potatoes and keep them in oven another 10 minutes. Stir potatoes one last time, then transfer to a serving bowl, tossing the rosemary and salt mixture over them.

2 Comments »

  1. This looks like a very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    I love sharing recipes also. I believe everyone can enjoy them. You can get our recipes on Twitter.

    Try This Pasta Dinner Recipe

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! I will definitely check out your recipe site…looks like I can find some new ideas there!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

