What’s in the Box? Week 9

 I am so excited about the contents of my CSA box this week! Due to the hot and humid weather, we are now into potato, bean, and cabbage season! I am thrilled to try out some new recipes using these different seasonal ingredients. Farmer Fred also was selling honey (made fresh from Hilltop Farms!) and organic chickens from Triple T Ranch in Fuquay Varina. I already have plenty of local honey to finish eating, but I did purchase a pound of chicken breast for only $10.59. It looks so fresh and was reasonably priced. I can’t wait to make a meal with it this weekend…any suggestions for a great chicken dish?

Here is the remaining contents of my CSA box this week:

1 pint sugar snap peas

1 green cabbage (which means more yummy homemade cole slaw to come!)

3/4# green and dino kale

2# white and red potatoes

3 red spring onions

1#  white and green snap beans

Doesn’t all of this fresh, local produce sound wonderful?! I am looking forward to sharing some delicious recipes with you over the next couple of weeks! I am off to start dinner…I am making another batch of my tuscan kale soup tonight!

Leave a Reply

