Midtown Farmer’s Market

 This past weekend, I had the opportunty to volunteer and scope out the Midtown Farmer’s Market in North Raleigh. Kate Fournel, one of my classmates in the Meredith College graduate program in Nutrition, is the current market manager, and has really put together a wonderful “grow-only” farmers market. I volunteered at the “Ask the Dietitian” booth, and created several handouts and recipes that related to local produce and CSA boxes. It was a really great experience, and a fun opportunity to promote my graduate pracicum project!

The Midtown Farmers Market was one of the neatest things I’ve seen since I moved to Raleigh almost 2 years ago! It is literally set up right in the middle of The Commons at North Hills, and is filled with various vendors. There is something for everyone…fresh and local bread, pastries, pretzels, smoothies, organic meat, produce, eggs, honey, cheeses, salsa, water ice…this list goes on and on. Everything is homemade, handmade, or grown by the vendors themselves, which gives the market a sense of community. All of the food is locally grown within a 50 mile radius using organic practices. There is also a great selection of jewelry, soaps, perfumes, and other lavish goodies to choose from…not to mention to live entertainment that performs on the quad every morning!

 I think I was most impressed with Prodigal Farms “goat cheese” cheesecakes…they were heavenly! This week’s flavors were lemon, chocolate, and mexican chocolate. Of course, I had to try the unique mexican chocolate flavor, and it was so rich and tasty! I am going to purchase these cheesecakes for special occassions this summer, they are too good to refuse! This week, I walked away with a dozen organic, free range eggs (for baking!), a jar of cinnamon honey butter, a pumpkin cinnamon chip muffin, a cucumber, and lots of free samples!

 The Midtown Farmers Market is open every Saturday from 8-12 from April 16th to November 19th, 2011. It you haven’t visited this market yet, it is well worth the trip! or more information on the vendor list, entertainment, and events this summer, please visit the Midtown Farmers Market website at: http://www.midtownraleighfarmersmarket.com/

2 Comments »

  1. I keep meaning to try out this market at North Hills as it is fairly close to my house. I’m usually carting the kids somewhere on Saturday mornings, and wind up going to the State Farmer’s Market in the afternoon instead. But I am definitely going to make a point to go in the next couple of weeks, especially to try the goat cheese cheesecakes – yum!

    Thanks for this post! I just posted about buying produce locally on Kel’s Cafe – we must be on the same wavelength!

    Kelley
    http://kelleychisholm.wordpress.com/

  2. I usually go to State Farmer’s Market too…but North Hills has some wonderful local food too! I hope you enjoy it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

